Animal substances and stumbling blocks
Things to look out for:
honey Animal product so not vegan. Can find its way into bread and cakes as a sweetener.
E471 Can be animal OR non-animal based. Check with the manufacturer.
cochineal (E120) A food colouring made from crushed beetles so not vegan.
pasta Can be made with eggs. Use egg-free pasta instead.
Chinese noodles Can be made with eggs. Use rice noodles.
wine and beer Sometimes fined with animal products. Ask your wine merchant for vegan wines and beers or check our stockists list.
margarines and spreads May contain animal derived vitamin D3, fish oils & whey.
veggie sausages May contain eggs or milk proteins.
crisps May contain milk protein and whey powder.
naan bread Usually contains milk powder or yogurt.
Quorn Contains egg so is never vegan.
Thai curry paste Some makes contain fish paste.
Worcester sauce Usually contains anchovies. Use a vegan version (available from Suma).
chocolate Some dark chocolate contains butterfat.
stock powder Some makes contains dairy products.
pastry and biscuits May be made with animal fats.